CyberPatriotThe National High School Cyber Defense Competition
CyberPatriot is the premier national high school cyber defense competition created to inspire high school students toward careers in cybersecurity or other science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines critical to our nation’s future. The competition was conceived by the Air Force Association, and national outreach was made possible by Northrop Grumman, the program’s presenting sponsor. SAIC and the CIAS at UT-San Antonio are founding partners of the program.

Now in its fourth phase, CyberPatriot IVI is open to all high schools or approved home school programs around the country. The San Antonio (Alamo) Chapter of the Air Force Association is a strong supporter of CyberPatriot. We offer our resources to help any student in San Antonio or JROTC or CAP team who is interested in competing this Fall.

There are 35 teams from the San Antonio Area in the 2011 CyberPatriot competition. See us on Facebook.

Congratulations to all of you for completing Round 1!

Many of you are off to a very strong start. At least five with 100%, three or more at 90%, and three or more at 80%. Well done and congratulations. But we're just getting started. Round 1 and Round 2 scores will be combined and only the top 36 in each division will go forward to Round 3. With 35 teams registered, we hope many of our SA area teams will continue to compete and be among these top 72 teams in Round 3...and go on to the finals, the top 12 in each division.

Mayor's Cyber Cup for 2011
Once again please mark your calendars for the San Antonio Mayor's Cyber Cup awards luncheon on 18 Feb 2012. This is a free event (supported by several generous sponsors) where we will recognize all of the SA area CyberPatriot teams and present the Cyber Cup trophy -- along with some other prizes and scholarships -- to our top teams. With your help, we hope to include each team, coaches, and well as school principals and superintendents, and several other academic, business, and government leaders. We're planning on 450 total. If you have not provided me the listing of your team members (including mentors), please do so. Thanks and good luck. Chris Cook

2010 San Antonio Mayor's Cyber Cup Winners
San Antonio Mayor Julian Castro presented the Mayor's Cyber Cup trophy to the San Antonio Information Technology and Security Academy at the first annual luncheon and awards ceremony on December 18, 2010. Keynote speakers included the mayor; General Richard Webber, 24th Air Force Commander, who heads Air Force Cyber Defense Command; and Carri Baker Wells, Chairman of the Board, The Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce. Key Sponsors included SAIC, NCI, Boeing, Our Lady of the Lake University, the Alamo Chapter of the Air Force Association, the Armed Forces Communications and Electronics Association, Deloitte and the Billy Mitchell Chapter of the Association of Old Crows. The winning team is composed of Jose "Ricky" Banda, Mario Puente, Robert Flores, Clint Sierra and Lawrence Roberts. See more photographs. See Express News Coverage.

On January 12th, it was announced that this team is one of the 12 finalists to attend the in-person national final round of competition at the Gaylord National Harbor Convention Center March 31-Apr 2.

This year San Antonio had more teams competing in this event than any other city in the country.  This recognition luncheon underscores how The Chamber is partnering with San Antonio academic, business, and government entities to create a highly-skilled and trained cyber security workforce.  The Alamo Chapter of the AFA presented $1000 scholarship awards to each of the members of the five-person winning San Antonio team. NCI presented each winning team member with a customized Air Force-style bomber jacket.

Aerospace Education Foundation President David Pope said: “This is an exciting event that falls right in the sweet spot for San Antonio. With 24th Air Force and the several college-level programs in Cyber Security in town, this is a definite winning program.”  Mr Chris Cook is the organizer of the Mayor’s Cyber Cup, and successfully integrated the AFA Cyber Patriot III Competition with the Cyber Cup competition. Tom Rogers conducted two clinics for coaches and mentors in the San Antonio area.  Alamo Chapter President Randy Coggins recognized Dr. Kaye Biggar (President Emeritus of Aerospace Education Foundation) and Dr. Greg White for their visionary contributions as the original founders of the AFA Cyber Patriot concept here in San Antonio.  Mayor Castro was presented an AFA membership by Randy Coggins for his support of AFA's Cyber Patriot III competition.